Wind in Hair and Insects in Mouth

IMG_0723

Every new adventure into the realm of a long day’s cycling starts with a good breakfast. Cut up garlic and reduce in a pan with tinned tomatoes,  tomato puree, fresh oregano and basil. Slice up some French bread and coat the French bread with the sauce. Top the bead with fresh sliced tomato, and add a generous topping of Mozzarella cheese. Then bake for about 15 minutes, sprinkle with chives and serve with a good cup of coffee.

IMG_0738

Next, drive to the forest of Puszcza Borecka. Such a forest must have welcomed and enveloped the ill fated Roman 17th Legion led by Varus. Hopefully we were going to have a better outcome! In we cycled under a canopy of green.  Quiet and peace met us. Nobody else. But the forest is full of life.

We had the sun on our faces, the wind in our hair and the insects in my teeth. What is it about Polish insects, especially mosquitoes?? Put me in a group of people and they are safe, for the insects home in on me. Guaranteed. Birds flew across right in front of me, a black and golden butterfly shared space with me for a few wonderful seconds and dragonfly blazed a little to close. The forest is alive. As we trundled through one open area and back into cover  we heard an animal that we had startled. Usually we don’t see it, but this time to my elation a deer bucked and bounded into the forest only a few feet from us.I was over the moon and had no chance to reach my packed camera.However the memory will stay with me forever.

On we went, seemingly always wending our way upwards. My wife wanted to show me some Zubr, or Bison to you and me. Unfortunately the park wasn’t open yet, but the facilities at the gate were good so we took some saddle weary time out for our sarnies. Now I am sure that Pink Floyd’s ‘Comfortably Numb’, was written by a cyclist who was feeling similar to me!

IMG_0779

 On we went a terrific hubbub made us pull over. A swampy area was positively throbbing noisily to the songs of frogs or toads singing in harmony.

IMG_0745

We had ridden for over 30km, I allow a few more kilometers for the uphill parts. Then it was off for home in time for Tiffin!

 

 

Leave a Reply

