Web of Intrigue

My next post was going to be on Cassis, Nice Cannes and fun, fun Verdon Gorge Well truth to tell, other things take my beady little eyes. For instance, sitting at home and watching the local Air Show on Sunday. Just how do you show air? Anyway, as I sat with book in hand, and viewing the Air Show, I turned to my right, and there next to me was a spiders web.

Do you know, of course you do, that a spiders web can withstand a hurricane! The complexity of the structure means that if one cord gets broken, the web itself grows stronger. Nifty. Well, sitting in the middle was an evil looking arachnid. And he had a guest. Mr Fly had come for dinner, or rather to be dinner. Do I watch the Air Show, or the spider and fly act? Goodbye Air show. I talked about this with a student on Monday and they told me that spiders melt the flies, and suck them up. Like a McDonald’s slushy. Students love telling me such things, yuck! Anyway the fly slowly disappeared and I left the spider for his cracker and cheese course.

The day was hot, and the door to the living room left open. Later that day I decided to watch a documentary about Zanzibar. A place we might visit next year. Anyway down we sat in front of laptop all cosy and cuddly. A little while later I felt something on my face, and in the dark simply batted it away. Then my wife went into hyperdrive. Screaming, shrieking at levels that shattered our crystal vase, she leaped like a whirlin’ Dervish into the air and across the room. A wonderful combination of legs performing an Irish Riverdance, and arms something like Saturday Night Fever played out before my eyes. ZShe really can move well! A spider had descended onto her in the dark and was making her its new home. Pulling spiders web from her shoulders and hair she continued to scream.

The perpetrator? A small rolled up spider fell t the floor. Making quietening noises I manfully approached the spider. Just as I got to it, the arachnid unfolded itself and, well, it looked quite big. Really. It was the same spider. Manfully I took a step backwards, collected a dustpan and brush. This way I would not hurt it, and more importantly not get too close. With the screaming finished a wonderful nervous laughter entered the room. Did it wish to melt my wife? I shall never know.

Hopefully tonight we can finish Zanzibar without our spidery friend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

